Contenuto principale

Parco delle Madonie

The regional park was officially created on 9 November 1989. Within the park area there are outcrops of rocks which have been dated at over a 200-million-year period and represent all aspects of the geology of Sicily apart from the current volcanic activity.
The collaboration of the Madonie Park authorities and the European Geoparks Network has allowed the research of students and lecturers of University of Palermo Department of Geology and Geodesy.
Studies have been made, papers published and educational paths mapped out with signs erected with information on the ground. Madonie Geopark is a member of the European Geoparks Network and the UNESCO Global Geoparks Network.
The park is made up from fifteen municipalities of the province of Palermo in Sicily (Caltavuturo, Castelbuono, Castellana Sicula, Cefalù, Collesano, Geraci Siculo, Gratteri, Isnello, Petralia Soprana, Petralia Sottana, Polizzi Generosa, Pollina, San Mauro Castelverde, Scillato and Sclafani Bagni).